Have Your Say!

January 25, 2016 9:00 am

Are you a living with sight loss and receiving benefits?

Some people in receipt of Disability Living Allowance (DLA) will be reassessed for Personal Independent Allowance (PIP) over the next few years and may not be aware of new changes. The Government have recently completed a consultation period and are looking to remove the availability of point scoring when you need to use an aid or an appliance; a judge has deemed that a bed is an aid. Although the consultation period is over we still need to voice our opinion on this matter. It could mean the removal of a weekly benefit, in its place a lump sum awarded to buy aids.

RNIB are in discussion with Department of Work and Pensions and have said that they don’t agree with this proposal. If you do not agree or would like to ‘have your say’ please use the link below to contact your local MP to take your voice to Parliament. Go to Have Your Say to use the free campaigning tools or send an email to the MP in your area:

Derek Thomas for St Ives derek.thomas.mp@parliament.uk

George Eustice for Camborne/Redruth george.eustice.mp@parliament.uk

Sarah Newton for Truro/Falmouth sarah.newton.mp@parliament.uk

Scott Mann for North Cornwall scott.mann.mp@parliament.uk

Sheryll Murray for SE Cornwall sheryll.murray.mp@parlaiment.uk

Steve Double for St Austell/Newquay steve.double.mp@parliament.uk

For specialist benefits advice for the visually impaired please contact Ruth Broad, iSightCornwall Benefits Advisor, on 01872-261110.

TwitterFacebookGoogle+LinkedIn

A donation, however small, can change someone's life. Thank you for your support.

Keep in Touch
Fields marked with an * are required
back to top ^
0